Public Works

Department of Public Works 

Wastewater Division

Kent County Regional Resource Recovery Facility is located at 139 Milford Neck Rd, Milford De 19963.

The Wastewater Division maintains over 465 miles of sewer infrastructure, 104 pump stations, and treats all sewage in Kent County DE. 

The treatment plant is operated and staffed 24 hours a day, including a staff of on-call personnel for any emergencies, from sewer breaks, sewer backups, and pump station failures.

The Kent County Regional Resource Recovery Facility accepts and treats wastewater from Smyrna, Camden - Wyoming, Clayton, Cheswold, Dover, Bowers Beach, Felton, Frederica, Hartly, Harrington, Kenton, Leipsic, Little Creek, Pickering Beach, Milford and the Dover Air Force Base.

Wastewater Planning:

The Department of Public Works provides long range wastewater transmission, collection and treatment planning.

Permit Compliance:

The Wastewater Division assures compliance with all State and Federal Permits pertaining to surface water discharges, biosolids land application and air emissions.

Capital Improvement Projects:

The Department of Public Works implements the planning, design and construction of the County's main transmission system as well as the resource recovery facility to meet anticipated capacity and regulatory requirements.


Engineering Division

The Public Works- Engineering Division is located at 555 Bay Rd, Dover, DE 19901, in the Levy Court Administrative Complex.

The engineering division is responsible for designing sewer infrastructure for Kent County sewer districts, as well as sewer plan review for all major subdivisions and sewer district expansions.

Other responsibilities of the department include Trash pickup, trash district formation and streetlight district formation and management.

- With over 17,000 trash customers, our office oversees the repair and replacement of garbage cans, delivery of cans to new customers, and coordination of trash pick-up. Our office handles all garbage collection inquiries including missed pickups, requests for new or replacement cans, bulk pick up and all other general garbage pick-up inquiries. Trash billing is included in the property owners’ County tax bill each year.

-Kent County provides street light service to many developments and communities throughout Kent County.  If your community does not have streetlights, contact the Department of Public Works for complete information on how to obtain this service.


Homeowners Associations - if you are interested in transferring the street light maintenance and billing responsibilities of your community to Kent County, please call (302) 744-2430.


Developers - As per Kent County Code (Chapter 187) installation of streetlights is required in subdivisions and must be coordinated with the Department of Public Works.  For detailed instructions please call (302) 744-2430


Environmental Programs

Environmental Programs is a section of the Engineering Division, which is located at the Wastewater Treatment Plant.

The purpose of the environmental programs at Kent County is to protect and preserve critical environmental assets of Kent County as well as to meet the regulatory requirements enacted by the Federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the standards set by the State of Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control (DNREC).